Strategic Communications & Public Affairs (SCAPA)

How to guides

Check out the how to guides we’ve developed to help you navigate communications and public affairs at ANU. But don’t worry, they don’t replace getting in touch with us for help.

Popular guides:

We are the University’s central point for corporate, internal and external communication, community engagement, public lectures and outreach, VIP visits and protocol. We  produce the quarterly magazine ANU Reporter, enewsletters On Campus and Experience ANU, and manage the ANU Newsroom website and the ANU Channel on YouTube.

We are comprised of three groups: Strategic Communications, who are the storytellers, Public Affairs, who are the connectors and Multimedia, who bring our stories to life.

The storytellers look after corporate communications, media relations, social media, internal communications and reputation and issues management. The connectors run major events, public lectures and outreach, VIP visits and protocol and government, corporate, diplomatic and community relationships.

Together, we tell the ANU story. We contribute to achieving the University’s strategic goals by shaping public opinion, fostering ANU engagement and critical relationships, harnessing pride within the institution, and showcasing ANU excellence.

Our contact details

Click on our names to get to know us.

Name & position Phone Email
Jane O’Dwyer
Director
02 6125 5001
0416 249 231
director.communications@
anu.edu.au
Penny Cox
Associate Director
02 6125 8399
0478 337 706
penny.cox@anu.edu.au
Elizabeth Richter
Assistant Communications and Public Affairs Officer
02 6125 6125 elizabeth.richter@anu.edu.au

Media hotline

Journalists are welcome to contact any of our listed experts directly. Contact the Strategic Communications team for other media queries or help tracking down an expert that isn’t on the list on:

02 6125 7979 (staffed inside and outside business hours) or 0418 307 213

Strategic Communications team

Name & position Phone Email
James Grubel
Strategic Communications Manager
02 6125 7988 james.grubel@anu.edu.au
Phil Dooley
Senior Communications Officer (Science, medicine and engineering)
02 6125 5575 phil.dooley@anu.edu.au
Aaron Walker
Senior Communications Officer (Humanities and public policy)
02 6125 8486 aaron.walker@anu.edu.au
Kate Prestt
Media Communications Officer
02 6125 0027 kate.prestt@anu.edu.au
Simon Jenkins
Media Communications Officer
02 6125 5210 simon.jenkins@anu.edu.au

Public Affairs team

Name & position Phone Email
Georgia Nielsen
Senior Communications & Public Affairs Officer
02 6125 7081 georgia.nielsen@anu.edu.au
Katharine Pierce
Events & Public Lectures Coordinator
02 6125 4144 katharine.pierce@anu.edu.au
events@anu.edu.au
Sandy Hawke
VIP Visits & Protocol Coordinator
02 6125 0129 sandy.hawke@anu.edu.au
Richard Fox
Corporate Communications Officer
ANU Reporter Editor
02 6125 4171 richard.fox@anu.edu.au
Samara O’Donohue
Government Relations Officer
02 6125 0259 samara.odonohue@anu.edu.au

Multimedia team

Name & position Phone Email
Jamie Kidston
Senior Multimedia Officer
02 6125 9313 jamie.kidston@anu.edu.au
Paul Maclay
Multimedia Officer
02 6125 7646 paul.maclay@anu.edu.au
Jack Fox
Assistant Multimedia Officer
02 6125 7646 jack.fox@anu.edu.au
Stuart Hay
Multimedia Officer
02 6125 4292 stuart.hay@anu.edu.au

Mailing & general contact

Strategic Communications and Public Affairs
Chancelry, Building 10
The Australian National University
ACT 0200 Australia
T 02 6125 6125
F 02 6125 8255
media@anu.edu.au

Updated:  18 July 2014/ Responsible Officer:  Director, SCAPA/ Page Contact:  Director, SCAPA