2012 05 30 CBE Marketing

Deregulation of student contributions

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young and Chancellor Professor Gareth Evans have joined the debate about future university funding, calling for deregulation of student contributions so Australian universities can better compete with the best in the world.

Jake Trindorfer addressing the crowd at the AIME launch

Closing the gap in higher education

AIME (Australian Indigenous Mentoring Experience) has officially been launched at ANU.

Detail from 'The Joy of Sanskrit' e-text cover.

Sanskrit gets tech savvy with new e-text

New technology is breathing life into Sanskrit, the language of classical Indian art, literature and religion, with the publication of a Sanskrit electronic textbook.

Researchers monitoring alpine landscapes. Photo courtesy of Henrik Wahren

New scholarships and grants for landscape conservation

Australian natural resource scientist, Dr Rob Lesslie, along with his family, have set up a generous new endowment to help promote sustainable management of Australia’s natural landscape.

Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop farewells Laura Ferguson (L) and Helen Trezise (R), who will take part in the New  Colombo Plan. Photo courtesy of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Students head to Japan under New Colombo Plan

Australia’s Minister for Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop has farewelled two ANU students who will study in Japan under the government’s New Colombo Plan.

Filed under: ANU, Asia, Education, Politics, Students

MOU signing_1600

Tertiary Open Day to continue for next three years

The Australian National University has joined five other Canberra institutions to commit to a jointly-run Tertiary Open Day over the next three years.

Zsuzsoka Kecskes in her hospital office.

Family in focus

An old school addition to the Canberra neonatal ward is making a big difference to new parents and bubs.

Back row (L-R) Jamila Rizvi, Areti Metuamate, Bettina Söderbaum, Professor The Honourable Gareth Evans AC QC, Dr Michael Brand, Thérèse Rein, Professor Ian Young AO, Tess Kelly, Tony Hartnell AM
Front row (L-R) Huy Nguyen, Rizalyn Sarda Albarracin

Distinguished alumni honoured

Businesswoman Thérèse Rein and international art scholar Dr Michael Brand have been honoured by ANU as joint winners of the annual Alumnus of the Year award.

Graham and Loiuse Tuckwell, and Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO, surrounded by the first Tuckwell Scholars at Parliament House. Image courtesy of Josh Wilson, Prime Minister's Office.

Tuckwell Scholars meet the PM

Prime Minister Tony Abbott has taken time out of his busy schedule to meet with the first 25 Tuckwell Scholars at Parliament House.


Strong demand for student places

One of the largest ever groups of students has arrived on campus to start their studies.

Older Posts »

Updated:  23 April 2014/ Responsible Officer:  Director, SCAPA/ Page Contact:  Director, SCAPA